top of page
  • Writer's pictureChanel Taylor

April Engagements


The month of April was very exciting and busy for me – from meeting activists to completing my first year of college! Here is a quick recap of some of the amazing panels I attended and people I met this past month.


April 3 – I attended the taping of Empowerment Encounter at The Word Network in Southfield, MI. Empowerment Encounter is hosted by pastor, activist, and one of my personal heroes Jamal Bryant. His main guest was CNN political analyst and white house correspondent April Ryan. As a young woman interested in both community engagement and journalism it was so inspiring to meet two social and political leaders. I was absolutely star struck when I met them. She actually asked me about my lipstick color (NYX Praline). It is encouraging to see black men and women doing their part to impact society. The Word Network can be found on Instagram @thewordnetwork.


April 8 – I attended The Visionary Panel organized by Kaelin Hurst’s YSF Blog (Young Saved and Fly). The event included two panels of young entrepreneurs and professionals sharing their experiences and giving tips for personal and professional success. Some of the panelist included Bee Brown CEO of The Bee Agency @beebrownpr, Valentina founder of Vajze Jewelry @vajze, Kala Wilburn designer of Fannie Lucille @kalasantrese and many more talented men and women. The event also included vendors and I purchased a stylish t-shirt from the faith based company When U Pray Apparel @whenupray. It was wonderful to connect with young professionals and pick up helpful advice on topics from balancing multiple jobs to walking in your calling. You can follow the YSF Blog on Instagram @ysfblog.


April 13 – I attended a PR Pro Mixer hosted by the Detroit Chapter of The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA). It was held at Local Kitchen & Bar in Ferndale, MI. This event was meant to connect members of The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) from various colleges with each other and PR professionals. I met and connected with students from the University of Detroit Mercy, U of M Dearborn, and Wayne State. Wayne State’s PRSSA can be found on Instagram @wsuprssa.


April 18 – As a Public Relations major and member of Wayne State's Chapter of the PRSSA I attended the annual Alumni Breakfast hosted by Wayne States PR department. The breakfast included Wayne State Alum and companies that partner with Wayne State's PRSSA. Meeting professionals and other people in my program was great, and attending these events has greatly enhanced my networking skills.


April 21 – I had the pleasure of modeling for Not Sorry Apparel at the Cass Collective showcase. Not Sorry Apparel is an original clothing brand based in Detroit that specializes in unisex clothing. I modeled the clothing from their new Military collection – Armed with Love. The Cass Collective is a business located in Midtown Detroit that hosts various small businesses. You can find Not Sorry Detroit on Instagram @notsorryapparel and Cass Collective @casscollectivedetroit.


April 22 – One of my fellow bloggers and friend (@brifromthed on Instagram) invited me to attend the Spring Open House for Oh So Radio – a media group based in the metro Detroit area that includes radio, photography, and a print and online magazine. The open house was fantastic and I met some of the Of So Radio team which was largely made of beautiful black women. I love seeing black women making strides in their field and working their #BlackGirlMagic! Oh So Radio can be found on Instagram @theohsoradio.


April 23 – I attended that Blog Like a Boss workshop and brunch at Tech Town in Detroit. Some heavy hitters in the blogging industry were there giving tips on marketing, media content, and strategy. Panelists included Brandelyn Green of @voiceofhair, Justin Milhouse @j.milhouse, Gabrielle Deculus of @businessrulesforwomen, and Chalie G @iamcharlieg. The workshop was wonderful because the panelist gave practical advice on how to enhance your blog and structure your content. I gained useful information from successful bloggers and I plan to implement what I learned into Candidly Chanel, so stay on the lookout for some new features! You can follow the organizer for the workshop on Instagram @ourjourni.


April 27 – I completed my last final and officially became a college sophomore. I'm excited to see what this summer has to offer and starting fresh in the fall. I can proudly say that my first year of college was one for the books – I met amazing people, learned new subjects, and matured as an individual.


Introducing the "About Me" tab! I want to create a stronger relationship with readers and myself by letting you all into my life. I think it’s important for my audience to know who I am, my interests, and what I’m up to which is why I created the “About Me” tab. Some of the things I’m adding will be updates on my life that go more in depth than what can be seen on social media. Please message me on any of my social channels or through Candidly Chanel with features or topics you would like to see. I’m open and hoping to collaborate with other bloggers, photographers, PR professionals etc. – please feel free to reach out!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page