top of page
  • Writer's pictureChanel Taylor

Top 10 stores to shop when you're fabulous and frugal

As a college student on a budget it’s important for me to look good, and not break the bank. The following lists my favorite stores for discount shopping. They allow me to have a fully stocked closet and wallet. Many of these stores send out coupons and sale information through email and/or text. If you’re looking to save while shopping I strongly recommend signing up with your email and downloading the store’s app.


1. I am a "Maxinista" and proud of it, TJ Maxx is easily my favorite store. It has a variety of clothing, shoes, beauty products, underwear/hosiery, and trinkets at discount prices. The thing I love most about TJ Maxx is the variety. One of my favorite purchases were decorative journals with bible verses on them, they were priced at $4.99 and I bought about six. TJ Maxx is a great store to get quality gifts at decent prices. They have all your needs from trendy household décor to well-crafted leather goods.


2. Lord & Taylor Outlet is a branch of Lord & Taylor, it has its inventory at more reasonable prices. It is much smaller than the regular stores, but size doesn't affect the quality of its products. This is the best place to shop for discounted designer jeans! They carry J Brand, Lucky, 7 for All Mankind and more. Besides jeans their other merchandise is well made and lasting. I purchased an over-sized sweater by Design Lab that was originally over $60, but I paid only $11. There is a LT Outlet located at Great Lakes Crossing Outlet in Auburn Hills, Michigan.


3. Boohoo is the epitome of having a fully stocked and fabulous closet on a budget. The online brand launched in 2006 is geared towards young people. The thing I love most about Boohoo is the frequency of its sales. Every time I go to the site there’s some type of sale going on. I once bought eight everyday dresses for $60 during a 60% off sale. I keep up with them by following their socials and receiving emails. Their clothing is trendy and super affordable.


4. Target is the store that you go into seeking to buy one item and walk out of with a full cart. Target has items for all your needs from groceries to televisions. My favorite sections in Target are the beauty section and the clearance rack. The beauty section has fully collections from some of the best "drug-store" makeup brands like NYX, Neutrogena, and Shea Moisture. They have a large inventory of hair products and body care also. The clearance clothing section is full of great, basic pieces. I get emails and text updates with their promotions.


5. Forever 21 is easily everyone's favorite. I wouldn't be surprised if your shopping cart online has over $300 worth of merchandise in it. Don't worry, mine does too. Forever, like Boohoo, is a store that has cute, affordable pieces. It’s a great place to shop for basics like tank tops and leggings. They also have contemporary pieces that mimic runway fashions like embroidered jeans and sock heels. I receive email updates from here too. My favorite Forever 21 in Michigan is located at Great Lakes Crossing Outlet.


6. DSW is my go-to for shoes! They give me discount coupons for my birthday and have a rewards system based on how much I shop there. I frequently get coupons in the mail for $5-$20 off. They have the best brands, and one of the best clearance sections I've ever seen in a store. Their shoes cost less than they would at the designer’s store, and are very well made. DSW also has a nice selection of purses, jewelry, and hosiery. I get weekly emails from them with promotions and new inventory updates.


7. Thrift Shops - I used to look down on thrift shops and shudder at the thought of wearing something worn by an unknown person. Now I love thrifting and some of my favorite articles of clothing are from thrift shops. You can find totally unique and sometimes new pieces. The key to finding good stuff is patience and persistence. There are a lot of racks that are sometimes poorly organized, so bring your patience hat to any thrifting outing. Once you're able to shuffle through the things you don't want you can find dazzling pieces. I make sure to wash or dry clean my purchases. Most thrift stores also offer student discounts on certain days or coupons in the newspaper.


8. H&M is a store that hosts lots of basic items mixed with some upscale pieces. They also do collabs with designers like Balmain and Robert Cavalli. It's like Forever 21 for a more mature crowd. Although they work with popular designers their clothes are still reasonably priced. The best thing to buy at H&M is sweaters, I purchased two cable knit sweaters and both were under $10. They're well-made and keep me warm. For sales and discount information sign up for email alerts.


9. Aldo is a known as a shoe store, but I most love their unique and stylish accessories. The carry bejeweled purse straps, eclectic purses, and pompon clips for shoes. This is the store to visit if you're looking for a great necklace or cool piece to jazz up your wardrobe. They also have an email list and offer discounts and promotions.


10. Nordstrom Rack is the outlet version of Nordstrom's. Like LT Outlet, it is smaller than the normal store, but has quality merchandise. Similar to most of the stores I like it has designer fashions for cheaper prices. In addition to clothing and shoes, it also carries beauty products and body care with brands like C.Booth and Bliss. Some locations also have a tailoring service.

Happy Shopping!

Photos courtesy of Chanel Taylor

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page