top of page
  • Writer's pictureChanel Taylor

Campus Activities Team Karaoke Night


The final assignment of my photojournalism class was to put together a news story that incorporated photography, videography and interviews. This project was to culminate all the skills learned throughout the semester wrapped up in a nice package. I appreciate when classes that are more creative do not have traditional finals but allow for projects and outlets of expression that align with the nature of the course. I chose to do my final project on a karaoke night held by the Wayne State University Campus Activities Team. The event was in the basement of the student center and had over 20 attendees. It was fun to photograph because it was full of students having fun together, being silly and showcasing their karaoke talent. There were about five students who did karaoke sets and I was able to take video footage of two of them and photos of the others. It was difficult to get the lighting right at first because of the television screen which was used to show the song lyrics, but I adjusted by stepping back and focusing the camera. Some of my favorite shots are the ones with the person on stage singing and the words of the song clearly on the screen. In addition to the photos and videos I took of students I was able to get two video interviews from members of the Campus Activities Team who organized the event. Taking the videos was easier than I expected. I held the camera still, took them in a well-lit area and had the questions prepared. I was pleased with the thorough answers the young men gave and how they came out. When it was time to assemble the entire project, I first used Adobe Premiere but after struggling to learn the program I switched to iMovie and had a much smoother process. It included putting in title slides, captions, layering the photos atop the videos and managing the audio levels. If anyone is trying to put together a news package/story and does not have technical equipment or background I highly suggest using iMovie. I enjoyed completing this final project and all the other assignments I can add to my portfolio including portraits, sports, feature stories and now a full packaged story.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page