top of page
  • Writer's pictureChanel Taylor

Featuring the Day of the Dead Exhibit

The feature assignment was to choose an event and shoot a photojournalism story of at least five photos. I researched events happening during the weekend and decided to spend a nice Sunday afternoon in Midtown visiting some historic buildings. I attended a flute concert at the Main Detroit Public Library, but the conditions of the event were not good to photograph. There were several attendees and a flute band of about 10 people. I was not able to get close to the flute players, so I left the library and went across the street to the Detroit Institute of Arts. At the DIA, I was able to photograph the Day of the Dead exhibit.


This was the most difficult photo assignment I have had to complete so far, but I am pleased with the way the photos turned out. The exhibit is indoors, and very dark with black walls and low lighting. The exhibit was sectioned off into three parts, two having dark walls and one with a white wall. Just outside the exhibit was a very well-lit area where I also took photos. I increased the ISO and shutter speed to compensate for the lack of light.


The exhibit was beautiful to look at and to photograph. I tried to get photos of people’s reactions as they saw the art – especially young children who were enamored by the bright colors and many objects on display. Most people visiting the exhibit were Hispanic and brought several generations of family to see the exhibit from children, to parents, to grandparents. If this were a more expanded assignment, I would have loved to learn more about what it is like for a grandparent who has been celebrating Day of the Dead for decades to introduce it to their very young grandchild.


Getting people’s names for the captions was very challenging. I did not want to disturb people as they looked at the exhibit, and as I was photographing many stepped out of the way because they assumed I was taking photos of the exhibit only and did not want them in the photos. It may have been easier if I had a press credential and could tell them I was photographing for the Free Press or another major publication.


This assignment really put me into the shoes of a photojournalist. I had to know enough about the camera to adjust in situations of low, dark lighting. I had to be constantly prepared to spot the right moments to photograph and have the patience to take over 70 photos.


In future assignments, I hope to improve my photography skills and my confidence. When writing stories for my print journalism classes I have no problem going up to someone and interviewing them because I have been writing for a long time and have confidence in my ability as a writer. However, I struggled to ask people their names because I do not believe within myself that I am a photographer. I feel extremely novice and uncertain at times, so I become more secure in my photography skills which will, in turn, boost my self-assurance.


Visitors of the Detroit Institute of Arts view the Detroit Industry Murals. The murals painted by Diego M. Rivera features depictions of aviation technology, water, nature and symbols of life and death. The mural is a National Historic Landmark.


The Day of the Dead (Celebrating el Dia de Muertos) includes several alters deriving from Latin American culture to celebrate their friends or relatives who have died. Submissions to the exhibit were reviewed by a selection committee of the DIA, the Consulate of Mexico in Detroit and community members. This skeleton is a part of the Desconocido display by Joanne Coutts of Detroit to represent migrant struggles.

Many of the displays have elaborate colors, skulls, photos, flags and personal items that were special to the deceased. The exhibit includes 16 displays that each have a unique meaning and many are related to immigration. This display is called Mikey by Justin Mills of Ann Arbor is an offerenda to his friend Mike who died of colon cancer at age 3. It includes Mike's guitar and photos drawn by his children.

DIA volunteer Susan Rogers explains the history of the Detroit Industry Murals to a museum visitor. They stand in front of the west side wall that depicts the automobile industry and the energy source for the Rouge complex, Power House No. I. The murals are located in Riviera Court on the second level.

Museum visitors look at the Day of the Dead (Celebrating el Dia de Muertos) displays. Each piece of artwork has a description in both English and Spanish; and brochures that describe the exhibit are also available in English and Spanish. The exhibit will be on display until November 10 as a part of the Special Exhibition Galleries Central.

Linda Knight, a DIA volunteer, shares information about the museum and the murals at the DIA. Over 600 people make up the DIA Volunteer Council and serve visitors throughout the museum. Volunteers go through a training period and are able to select the museum department they want to work for.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Campus Activities Team Karaoke Night

https://youtu.be/EaQU_Ywdrqw The final assignment of my photojournalism class was to put together a news story that incorporated photography, videography and interviews. This project was to culminate

bottom of page